Facebook
via: Facebook

Facebook automatically scans your face when you start using the app so that it automatically identifies you and tags you in different pictures and videos.

But many people are very uncomfortable with it and if you are one of them then you can simply turn this feature off. The social media site has enabled facial recognition by default but the good thing is that it also gave users the option to enable or disable it. So, if you don’t want this feature then you can simply disable it on every platform.

For Facebook Mobile Users:

If you are using the app on any mobile platform like iOS, Android, or even iPad, you can easily turn this feature off.

Open the Facebook app on your device.

Tap on the three lines that you see on the top right corner next to the notification icon

Scroll down to the bottom and where you find “Settings & Privacy”, tap on it.

Next tap on the “Settings” you will find under “Settings & Privacy”.

There you will find “Face Recognition” in the privacy section of “Settings”.

Tap on the “Face Recognition”, on the next page you will find an option called “Do you want Facebook to be able to recognize you in photos and videos?”

Tap on that option and select “No” to disable this feature.

Also Read:
Facebook Messenger gathers More user’s data than any other app

For Desktop Users:

Visit the Facebook website on any platform (Windows, macOS, Linux) on any browser.

Log in to your Facebook profile

Click on the drop-down icon on the top right corner, again you will find it next to the notification icon

From the options list click on “Settings”

On the next page, you will find the “Face Recognition” under privacy on the left side of the page.

Click on the “Face recognition”

On the right side of the page under face recognition settings you will find an option called “Do you want Facebook to be able to recognize you in photos and videos?”.

Click on “Edit” on the right of the option

Select “No” from the drop-down menu and then click on the close to disable this option.

Remember you don’t have to disable the feature on every platform. If you, do it on one platform then the settings will be implemented across all. Once you disable the option, the social networking site will remove all your face recognition data from its all servers. Facebook will not ask you to enable this feature again nor it will tag or identifies you in any picture when you disable the option. After this option is turned off, your friends will have to manually select you in the list of friends if they want to tag you in any picture or video. 

Experiencing difficulties with your Device, check out our “How To” page on how to resolve some of these issues.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here