Instagram

Instagram is the Z-Gen’s most preferred social media app these days. With over one billion monthly active users, the app has just become more than a photo-sharing platform.

Over the years like many other social media platforms, Instagram also transformed to become a traditional social media platform by adding more and more features. Apart from posting photos, users can now send direct messages to others, share links, post stories, post short videos in the form of reels, post long videos on IGTV, and many more. All of these features are already present in some ways on other social media platforms.

Just like Facebook and WhatsApp, Instagram also shows user’s availability status. The Facebook-owned app called it “Activity Status” which shows if the user is online or not.

It is an interesting option as it lets your friends and family know that you are online at the moment so if they want to interact with you they can. However, there are some situations where you don’t want your contacts or friends to know that you are online.

For that situation the app allows users to hide their “Activity Status” so that others won’t know if they are online or not.

In this article, we will tell you how you can hide the activity status on the popular photo-sharing app.

How to hide Activity Status on Instagram?

You can hide the activity status on the app through both the iOS and Android operating systems. For this, you also don’t need to visit the app’s web application or desktop version. Let’s have a look at how you can do it:

Open the App on your mobile device.

Log in to the Account Whose Activity status you want to hide.

Tap on your profile icon at the bottom of the page.

Tap on three horizontal lines at the top of the page.

At the top, click on the Settings option.

Scroll down to the privacy option and click on it.

Navigate Activity status from the list of options and tap on it.

Turn the toggle off which says” Show Activity Status”.

That’s it. Now your online status will not be shown to anyone.

This procedure will only hide your online status. However, if someone sent you a direct message and you have seen it then the app shows the read receipt to that person. This process will not hide the read receipt on the direct message and officially Instagram doesn’t allow users to hide read receipt.

Experiencing difficulties with your Device, check out our “How To” page on how to resolve some of these issues.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here