How to Turn Off Link Sharing on Android

Sharing small videos, pictures, or documents from smartphones are an easy task. But when you have to share larger files then it may be difficult. You can send them as email attachments but then you have to compress them down from their original size to ensure that the attachment limit is reached. Every file needs to be uploaded before it can be sent across – which indeed is a difficult task. The problem is enhanced when you don’t have Wi-Fi.

Link Sharing on the other hand can help in sending all your large files without you having to compress files. You can create a secure link for content stored in the cloud. This will enable easy sharing of large files without having to worry about internet bandwidth or file size limits. Link sharing also lets you share only the specific content that you want to. At any point when you don’t want to share the content anymore you can easily turn off the link sharing. This is a small guide that will help you learn how to turn off link sharing on Android device.

How to Turn Off Link Sharing on Android – Google Photos

Using the steps below you can disable link sharing to restrict people who can view certain pictures or shared albums:

  1. Go to Google Photos
  2. Open Library from the option given at the bottom of the Google Photos
  3. Select the album that you have shared with others to view
  4. From the menu (three dots menu) on the top-right click on Options
  5. Next tap on Link Sharing
  6. You will be prompted with a note saying – Stop Link Sharing. Click on the Delete link

This will Turn off the link sharing option and no one would be able to view the photos any longer.

If you want to disable link sharing on a single photo then here is what you can do:

  1. Open Google Photos
  2. You need to select the message icon located on the top-left of Google Photos
  3. Select the image that you have link-sharing active for
  4. Next tap on Link Sharing
  5. You will be prompted with a note saying – Stop Link Sharing. Click on the Delete link

This will Turn off the link sharing option and no one would be able to view the photos any longer.

How to remove certain people from link sharing

At times when you have permitted certain people access to the link, may be able to continue seeing your photos and videos. Link sharing might still be active for them. In this situation, you can follow these steps to stop specific people from accessing your link.

Go to Google Photos

Open Library from the option given at the bottom of Google Photos

Select the album that you have shared with others to view

From the menu (three dots menu) on the top-right click on Options

On the Options page, you must locate the Members area. This is where you will find the list of all the people with whom you have shared the album with.

To stop sharing a link with these members select the menu (three-dot menu) beside a person’s name

You will get the Remove person option, select this option and then confirm your action

This will delete any comments and photos that the person has added to your album. When you are removing the last person, you will be given the option to Make Private. This will remove all comments along with yours in the album.

So, this is how you can turn off link sharing with people to whom you have given access to your photos and videos in Google Photos.

Experiencing difficulties with your Device, check out our “How To” page on how to resolve some of these issues.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here