WhatsApp

WhatsApp is the most used instant messaging application worldwide. Over the years, it has added many new features and options that makes the app more than just a messaging app.

Some of these features were copied from rival apps like Snapchat. Just like Snapchat, WhatsApp also added a disappearing message feature on its app.

Once you enable this option, messages will disappear automatically after seven days in both private chat and group chats.

However, older messages will not be affected by this feature as per the app’s official website. For individual chat, users have the option to either enable or disable this option.

But for group messages, any individual user can enable or disable this option. And only group admins have the right to change settings to allow only admins to enable and disable this option.

The messages will also disappear after seven days if the user doesn’t open their WhatsApp application for seven days. But the message will remain visible on the notification shade until the app is opened.

When a user replies to a disappearing message, the reply might be visible to others even after seven days. And when users forward some disappearing message to others then the message will remain visible. Disappearing messages will not disappear after seven days when it’s forwarded to others. Users can also take a screenshot of it to save the message before it disappears.

If users take the backup of the chat before the message disappears then the disappearing message will also be added in the backup and users can see it again when they restore the backup.

If users enable disappearing messages and send a photo or video to others then the media file will disappear from the chat after seven days but if the auto-download is on the media file will save on the user’s gallery and will remain there until they delete the file themselves.

How to enable Disappearing Messages in WhatsApp?

Open WhatsApp on your mobile.

Choose the contact whom you want to send disappearing messages and open a chat with that contact.

Tap on the contact’s name to view the contact information.

Scroll down and you will see an option called “Disappearing Messages”.

Tap on the option and then tap on continue.

On the next page, tap on “On” to enable the feature.

How to disable disappearing Messages?

Open the contact’s name and tap on it.

Scroll down to disappearing messages and Tap on “Off” to disable this feature.

Experiencing difficulties with your Device, check out our “How To” page on how to resolve some of these issues.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here